RSS

Pan-Seared Brussels Sprouts

23 Nov

 I’m sure no one needs another recipe for brussels sprouts – they’ve been roasted, fried, stir-fried, baked, and even ended up in curries.  But, I didn’t know that enthusiastic bakers had made Brussels Sprouts Cakes……here and here.  If carrots can be baked into cakes, why not brussels sprouts I guess.  Folks either love the sprouts or hate them, I hated them not too long ago but now find them delicious when roasted or pan-seared.  I don’t know about baking cakes with the sprouts, however, if I do get so adventurous, I’ll post some pictures and let you know how it tasted.

I made these pan-seared brussels sprouts for dinner tonight and they were incredibly delicious and almost crunchy.  I first trimmed the sprouts and cut them in half.  Then, blanched the sprouts in salted boiling water for about 4-5 minutes and drained the water.  While the sprouts were simmering away, I sliced some onions and began caramelizing them in a tablespoon of oil.  When the onions were golden brown, I added the blanched brussels sprouts and continued to cook on medium heat until the sprouts were well seared, brown, and almost crunchy.  In went some red pepper flakes, stirred it all around until well mixed.  It needed a pinch more salt, and that’s it.  I know this is how I like my brussels sprouts, I hope you do like it too.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 23, 2011 in Recipes, Vegetarian

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Pan-Seared Brussels Sprouts

  1. rachsmith

    November 23, 2011 at 10:29 am

    I’m not usually a fan of brussells, but these look super. might give them a go tonight – perhaps with some pancetta in the mix!

     
    • shaanthz

      November 23, 2011 at 3:22 pm

      I wasn’t a fan of the sprouts either, but this recipe seems to have converted me. A little patience goes a long way here…until the sprouts are nice and brown and crunchy. I’m sure the pancetta will take the humble sprouts to a whole new level…would love to hear how it turns out.

       
  2. Rosh

    March 13, 2012 at 9:42 am

    I normally just pan sear brussel sprouts with a bit of olive oil. Never tried adding onions! Sounds great 🙂

    Chef Al dente On going event: Gimme GREEN!

     
    • Shaanthz

      March 13, 2012 at 10:47 pm

      Carmelized onions add a hint of sweetness to the dish. Try it, I’m sure you’ll not be disappointed.

       
  3. Michael Fishman

    March 26, 2012 at 10:48 am

    I’m not a fan of brussels sprouts (the brussels vs brussel thing…) but crispy and with carmelized onions, I might have to give them another try.

     
    • Shaanthz

      March 27, 2012 at 12:36 am

      Yes, give these sprouts a try. May I suggest rendering some bacon or pancetta and then carmelizing the onions and sprouts in a little of the rendered fat? You might elevate the sprouts to a whole new level….

       
  4. nomaddness

    May 16, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    When I was a kid, my mom used to glare at me until I gagged down my little pile of boiled, mushy brussels sprouts, so I have almost a knee-jerk reaction to them now. However…this actually sounds kinda nummy! I might just give this a try 😀 (carefully unchecking the “notify me..” box… thanks again for that info!!)

     
    • Shaanthz

      May 17, 2012 at 2:48 am

      Yes, please try it. Everyone who has tried this simple recipe has loved it – this recipe might change your aversion to the humble sprouts.

       

Leave a Reply

 
