RSS

SUNDAY POST : Collectibles

22 Jul

This week, Jake Sprinter’s Sunday Post features the theme Collectibles.  This one was easy because I had my favorite collectibles in one corner, and all I needed was a new picture.  Lord Ganesha has always fascinated me, and a long time ago I started collecting Ganesha idols.  Over the years my collection grew with all shapes and sizes of the Elephant-headed God, Ganesha.  I brought my small-sized Ganeshas with me to NYC when I moved here, and here they are.  The one large Ganesha was a birthday gift earlier this month.  My collection includes Ganeshas made of wood, silver, gold, bamboo, terracotta, etc., etc.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

27 responses to “SUNDAY POST : Collectibles

  1. jakesprinter

    July 22, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    Great Collection my friend ,Thanks for sharing 🙂

     
    • Shaanthz

      July 23, 2012 at 2:24 am

      Thank you Jake for letting me share my Ganeshas.

       
  2. viviankirkfield

    July 22, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    Much peace and good chi flows through your home…that’s for sure. Beautiful collection…I love them. 🙂

     
    • Shaanthz

      July 23, 2012 at 2:25 am

      I’m glad you like my collection. Thank you for your kind words Vivian – I hope Ganesha keeps the peace and good chi in my house for a long time to come 🙂

       
      • viviankirkfield

        July 23, 2012 at 11:38 pm

        I’m sure that will happen. 🙂

         
  3. Lynne Ayers

    July 23, 2012 at 1:49 am

    You are not alone in this collection – check out Wanderlust’s site at http://thewanderlustgene.wordpress.com/2012/07/22/collecting-the-remover-of-obstacles/

     
    • Shaanthz

      July 23, 2012 at 2:21 am

      Thanks Lynne – yes, that is a beautiful collection of Ganeshas. Most of my Ganeshas have a story behind them – but for now I let the stories be untold.

       
  4. deepa

    July 23, 2012 at 2:00 am

    I like the Ganesha reading the book!

     
    • Shaanthz

      July 23, 2012 at 2:22 am

      Yes Deepa – he is cute. I have a whole set of Ganesha musicians – that is back home – I have over 100 Ganeshas and brought only the little ones to NY.

       
  5. The Wanderlust Gene

    July 23, 2012 at 5:50 am

    Over a hundred, you say? What a wondrous collection they must be! Hope you can be reunited with them before too long, because it must be sad not to have all your Lord of the Music statues, or the large pieces to enliven your home. I must say i adore the terracotta Knowledge Bestower – I’ve not seen one like that before.

    By the way, I don’t know whether you’ve read it, but I simply adore the portrayal of Ganesha and the role he is given in Vickram Chandra’s “Red Earth and Pouring Rain” – one of my favourite books of all time.

     
    • Shaanthz

      July 24, 2012 at 8:30 pm

      Yes, I’ve read the book and love it too. Glad you liked my Ganeshas – I’m working on being reunited with my whole collection.

       
  6. Jo Bryant

    July 24, 2012 at 12:30 am

    they are so cute…love them

     
    • Shaanthz

      July 24, 2012 at 8:30 pm

      Thank you Jo – glad you like them.

       
  7. adinparadise

    July 24, 2012 at 11:18 am

    This is a most interesting collection. Shaanthz. Thanks for sharing them. 😉

     
    • Shaanthz

      July 24, 2012 at 8:31 pm

      Thank you for stopping by – I’m glad you liked my collection.

       
  8. Madhu

    July 24, 2012 at 11:35 am

    Beautiful Ganeshas Shaantz! Love the little terracotta one 🙂

     
    • Shaanthz

      July 24, 2012 at 8:33 pm

      Thanks Madhu – I never tire of adding to my collection, and hope to get some interesting ones next time I go home.

       
  9. restlessjo

    July 26, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    What a lovely and varied collection. I’m going back for another look.

     
    • Shaanthz

      July 27, 2012 at 2:51 am

      Thanks Jo – I’m glad you like my collection.

       
    • Shaanthz

      July 27, 2012 at 2:58 am

      Thanks Jo – glad you find the collection interesting.

       
  10. Rois

    August 11, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    Great entry, I love elephants! Check out my collectibles 😀 http://wp.me/p1Twup-1qj .

     
    • Shaanthz

      August 11, 2012 at 11:18 pm

      Thanks – your elephants are very cute!

       
  11. pennycoho

    August 15, 2012 at 6:32 am

    A beautiful collection!

     
    • Shaanthz

      August 15, 2012 at 11:02 am

      Thank you – I am happy you stopped by and liked the collection.

       

Leave a Reply

 
