RSS

Travel theme: Leading Lines

04 Aug

This week Ailsa has posted the Travel Theme: Leading Lines over at her blog.  She is in the midst of an amazing cross-country adventure, first by train, and now heading back by road. How exciting – I’m envious. But, she has set me thinking and I might have to hop onto a train for a long ride, unlike the short train ride I did last week from New York Penn Station to New Jersey on the New Jersey Transit line.  The one-hour train ride is nothing exciting except for a glimpse of the ocean – I wait for that view every time I travel on NJ Transit.  I tried to take a few pictures from the train last week, and here are some of them, which seem to fit the challenge of Leading Lines.  You can see the Manhattan skyline in the second picture with the Freedom Tower looming in the distance above everything else.

 

13 responses to “Travel theme: Leading Lines

  1. The Retiring Sort

    August 4, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    Love it – the trains can take you nearby – or very far… I can see how they could be enticing! 😉

     
  2. Madhu

    August 5, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    A long train ride sounds romantic, but not in India though 🙂 Neat interpretation

     
    • Shaanthz

      August 5, 2012 at 8:42 pm

      I agree – in India train rides are far from romantic now. I remember the long train rides as a child when Dad would move from one army base to another – those days the trains were fun. Maybe as a child it did seem fun!

       
    • Shaanthz

      August 5, 2012 at 9:12 pm

      Thanks for the pingback.

       
  3. ailsapm

    August 6, 2012 at 5:51 am

    Ahhh, I’ve done that train ride from Penn Station to Jersey and know exactly that glimpse of ocean you’re talking about, I love that you wait for it each time you travel. Great leading lines! xxx Ailsa

     
    • Shaanthz

      August 6, 2012 at 11:21 am

      Hi Ailsa, hope your trip is going well. I love the water and even a glimpse is gratifying.

       
  4. campanulladellaanna

    August 6, 2012 at 7:49 am

    Yeaaah… we had the same idea about the railroad 😀

     
    • Shaanthz

      August 6, 2012 at 11:20 am

      I see that coincidence – I loved all your pictures.

       
    • Shaanthz

      August 6, 2012 at 11:18 am

      I like your blog, nice pictures. Thanks for the pingback.

       

Leave a Reply

 
