Roasted Vegetable Tart with Pepper Relish

27 May

Summer has arrived early at WordPress with this week’s challenge Summer.  New York City has seen rain all week-long with some very heavy downpours.  But, that hasn’t stopped the loads of zucchini and tomatoes available at roadside vegetable carts in my neighborhood.  I am sure everyone planning a barbecue party tomorrow on Memorial Day is hoping the rains don’t spoil the fun.  I bought a bag each of zucchinis and tomatoes and, of course, had no clue how I was going to use it.  Ratatouille…nah…. soup….nah….zucchini bread?? What about the tomatoes?  So, out came the tart pan and the result was a vegetable tart that looked stunning and tasted even better – just simple and tasty veggies that were delicious with the roasting intensifying the flavors.

What about the pepper relish?  That was an afterthought when I saw the pepper relish sitting on the counter.  That is my latest discovery and I’m addicted to it.  It is a perfect relish for sandwiches and I even added it to a marinade (that recipe is for another time).  I could simply dig the spoon into the jar and enjoy the stuff. I guess I must return to the store and buy all the Pepper Relish I can find before others discover this delicious stuff.

It was very simple to assemble as you can see from the pictures.  I used 2 medium-sized zucchinis, 2 medium-sized tomatoes, 2 onions, and 2 potatoes – all medium-sized.  All the veggies were washed and sliced evenly into rounds.  I thawed a store-bought pie crust and blind baked it for a few minutes and set it aside to cool.  You can assemble them however you like I guess, I just assembled it in circles.  Drizzled extra virgin olive oil, kosher salt, and fresh ground coarse black pepper.  Snipped off some fresh herbs from the backyard and threw in a few sprigs of oregano and thyme.  Into a 425-degree oven went the tart pan, and the tart was done in about 45 minutes.

This tart is very light and healthy unlike the cream/milk and cheese laden heavier vegetable tarts.  Of course, this is a basic tart and will work well with mushrooms, carrots, parsnips, etc.

Then, the best part of the tart, Pepper Relish.  I thinned out a few teaspoons of the relish with warm water and drizzled it on the warm roasted veggies. The warm veggies absorbed the peppery goodness.  I did not return the tart to the oven because I thought the pepper may spew hot smoke – and I might have to save the situation.  Well, the tart was delicious and devoured  as soon as it was cool enough to handle.


Posted by on May 27, 2012 in Baking, Recipes, Vegan, Vegetarian


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Roasted Vegetable Tart with Pepper Relish

  1. orples

    May 28, 2012 at 12:23 am

    Using the pepper relish is an interesting idea. I’d have probably topped this luscious dish with cheese … so typical of me.

  2. Madhu

    May 28, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    Sounds absolutely delicious and just right for summer!

    • Shaanthz

      May 29, 2012 at 1:25 pm

      Yes, and no pots to clean, only toss the aluminium foil…

      • Madhu

        May 29, 2012 at 2:21 pm

        No pots to clean is always good :-)

  3. eof737

    June 24, 2012 at 8:18 am

    What a delish dish. ;-)

    • Shaanthz

      June 24, 2012 at 4:56 pm

      Easy and delicious too.


Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

